Overview

The main tasks Laboratory of Information Technologies (LIT) are: provision of the Joint institute for nuclear research (JINR) and JINR Member States with high-speed telecommunication channels; support and development of the distributed high-productive computer infrastructure and provision of informational and software support of the scientific and industrial activities of the Institute. Komplesny approach to the solution of these tasks has led to create in 2016 of the project of the Multifunctional Information and Computing Complex (MICC) is aimed at ensuring the further development of the network, information and computing infrastructure of JINR in accordance with the JINR Seven-Year Plan of development for 2017-2023.

Now MICC is one of the basic facilities of the JINR. It provides a 24x7 fulfilment of a vast range of competitive research conducted at JINR at a global level. MICC consists of four key components: Central Information Computer Complex (CICC), grid-infrastructure, computing cloud of JINR and HybriLIT high-performance cluster of parallel calculations. All these components lean on powerful network and engineering infrastructure.

The JINR grid-segment developed on the CICC basis is an important element of grid-infrastructures RDIG (Russian Data Intensive Grid), WLCG (Worldwide LHC Computing Grid) and EGI (European gridinfrastructure), it provides support for virtual organization of international projects, including those at the LHC (Large Hadron Collider). Now two GRID-sites are created: the resource center of the Tier-1 level for an experiment CMS and the resource center of the Tier-2 level for experiments of ATLAS, ALICE, CMS, LHCb, STAR, BES, COMPASS and others.The JINR grid site has not only a leading position in Russia, but is also among the top ten Tier-2 grid sites in the world. A distributed training research grid-infrastructure is developed at LIT to educate students and specialists that is represented by popular modern techniques of distributed calculations.

The Laboratory has implemented a cloud computing system that provides increased hardware utilization through virtual resource sharing and is necessary to fulfill JINR obligations in various research projects (NICA, ALICE, BESIII, NOvA, Daya Bay, JUNO, etc.). The resources of the Russian Economic University named after G.V. Plekhanov, the Institute of Theoretical Physics named after N.N. Bogolyubov (Kiev, Ukraine) and the Institute of Physics (Baku, Azerbaijan), etc. are integrated with the JINR cloud now, and integration work is underway with the European cloud infrastructure EGI Federated Cloud.

Global trends in use of hybrid computing architecture for carrying out massive and parallel scientific resource-intensive calculations have led to creation of the heterogeneous educational and testing HYBRILIT ground. Putting into operation in 2018 of the supercomputer of N.N. Govorun, our talented scientist, who created the Laboratory of Information Technologies together with M. G. Meshcheryakov, became a new stage of development of the heterogeneous platform. The Supercomputer is a joint project of the Bogoliubov Laboratory of Theoretical Physics and the Laboratory of Information Technologies under support of the JINR Directorate as well as specialists of the RSC Group, the Intel corporation, the NVIDIA company and IBS Platformics.The project is aimed to radically accelerate complex theoretical and experimental studies in the field of high energy physics, nuclear physics, condensed matter physics etc. underway at JINR. This supercomputer ranked 9th in the international ranking. A large number of scientists from Russia and other countries are already working on it, simulating nuclear processes, which will be studied experimentally at the NICA collider.

Mathematical support of experimental and theoretical research conducted in JINR LIT includes research on the advanced level in computational mathematics and physics. The aim of these studies is the development of mathematical methods, algorithms and software packages for numerical and symbol-numerical simulation of physical processes and quantum systems oriented to the heterogeneous platform HYBRILIT, and also processing and the analysis of experimental data with use of the latest computing hardware resources of the Laboratory. Also, much attention is paid to the development of task management systems (preparation and analysis of experimental data, modeling, etc.) with a scalable and flexible architecture that provides ample opportunities to adapt the system to changing computing resources, storage systems and network resources.

At present 322 employees work in LIT departments (2018). Among them are 7 professors, 25 doctors of science, 66 candidates of science.

О Лаборатории

Основными задачами Лаборатории информационных технологий (ЛИТ) являются: обеспечение Объединенного института ядерных исследований (ОИЯИ) и его стран-участниц скоростными телекоммуникационными каналами связи, поддержка и развитие высокопроизводительной вычислительной инфраструктуры, а также информационное и программное обеспечение научно-производственной деятельности Института. Комплесный подход к решению этих задач привел к разработке в 2016 году проекта Многофункционального информационно–вычислительного комплекса (МИВК), направленного на дальнейшее развитие сетевой и информационно-вычислительной среды ОИЯИ согласно 7–летнему плану развития ОИЯИ на 2017–2023 гг.

В настоящее время МИВК — одна из базовых установок ОИЯИ: это сложный аппаратно-программный комплекс, обеспечивающий в режиме 24 × 7 выполнение целого спектра конкурентоспособных исследований, ведущихся на мировом уровне. По сути МИВК является информационно-вычислительной средой, объединяющей суперкомпьютерные (гетерогенные), грид-, облачные комплексы и системы с целью предоставления оптимальных подходов для решения различных типов научных и прикладных задач. Все эти компоненты опираются на мощную сетевую и инженерную инфраструктуру.

Созданный на базе Центрально-Вычислительного Комплекса Лаборатории грид-сегмент ОИЯИ является важным элементом грид-инфраструктур RDIG («Российский грид для интенсивных операций с данными»), WLCG («Всемирный вычислительный грид для LHC») и EGI («Европейская грид-инфраструктура») и обеспечивает поддержку виртуальных организаций международных проектов, в том числе экспериментов на LHC (Большой адронный коллайдер, БАК). В настоящее время функционируют два ГРИД-сайта: ресурсный центр 1-го уровня Tier-1 для эксперимента CMS и ресурсный центр 2-го уровня Tier-2 для экспериментов ATLAS, Alice, CMS, LHCb, STAR, BES, COMPASS и других. Грид-сайт ОИЯИ имеет не только лидирующие позиции в России, но и входит в десятку грид-сайтов уровня Tier-2 в мире. Для обучения студентов и специалистов разных стран в ЛИТ создана распределенная учебно-исследовательская грид-инфраструктура, в которой представлены популярные современные технологии распределенных вычислений.

В Лаборатории внедрена система облачных вычислений, обеспечивающая повышение эффективности использования аппаратного обеспечения за счет виртуального разделения ресурсов и необходимая для выполнения обязательств ОИЯИ в различных научно-исследовательских проектах (NICA, ALICE, BESIII, NOvA, Daya Bay, JUNO и др.). На данный момент с облаком ОИЯИ интегрированы ресурсы Российского экономического университета имени Г.В.Плеханова, Института теоретической физики имени Н.Н.Боголюбова (Киев, Украина) и Института физики (Баку, Азербайджан) и др. , а также ведутся работы по интеграции с европейской облачной инфраструктурой EGI Federated Cloud.

Мировые тенденции применения гибридных вычислительных архитектур для проведения массивно-параллельных научных ресурсоемких вычислений привели к созданию гетерогенного учебно-тестового полигона HYBRILIT. Проект нацелен на кардинальное ускорение комплексных теоретических и экспериментальных исследований в области физики высоких энергий, ядерной физики, физики конденсированных сред и т.п., проводимых в ОИЯИ. Новым этапом развития гетерогенной платформы стало введение в эксплуатацию в 2018 году суперкомпьютера им. Н.Н. Говоруна, нашего талантливого ученого, который создавал Лабораторию информационных технологий вместе с М.Г. Мещеряковым. Суперкомпьютер является совместным проектом, поддержанным дирекцией ОИЯИ, в котором со стороны Института участвовали Лаборатория теоретической физики им. Н.Н. Боголюбова и Лаборатория информационных технологий, а также специалисты группы компаний РСК, корпорации Intel, компании NVIDIA и IBS Platformics. Этот суперкомпьютер занял в международном рейтинге 9-е место. Большое количество ученых из России и других стран уже работают на нем, моделируют ядерные процессы, которые экспериментально будут изучаться на коллайдере NICA.

Математическая поддержка экспериментальных и теоретических исследований, осуществляемых в ЛИТ ОИЯИ, включает проведение исследований на современном уровне в области вычислительной математики и вычислительной физики. Целью данных исследований является создание математических методов, алгоритмов и программ для численного и символьно-численного моделирования физических процессов и квантовых систем, ориентированных на гетерогенную платформу HybriLIT, обработка и анализ экспериментальных данных с использованием новейших вычислительных аппаратных ресурсов Лаборатории. Также большое внимание уделяется развитию систем управления задачами (подготовка и анализ экспериментальных данных, моделирование и т.п.), имеющих масштабируемую и гибкую архитектуру, которая предоставляет широкие возможности адаптации системы к изменяющимся вычислительным ресурсам, системам хранения и сетевым ресурсам.

В настоящее время в подразделениях лаборатории работает 322 сотрудника. Среди них 7 профессоров, 25 имеют научные степени доктора наук и 66 - кандидата наук.